Divergent by Veronica Roth

divergent

Wow. This is without a doubt one of the best books I have read this year, a thoroughly thrilling reading experience. I have always loved dystopian novels, for example Scott Westerfeld’s ‘Uglies’ series was one of my favourite books growing up. But with the exception of Kazuo Ishiguro’s ‘Never Let Me Go’ – one of the most insightful novels I have ever read – I haven’t gotten my hands on any dystopia in a long while. But after reading ‘The Hunger Games’ trilogy last year, and the release of the incredible second film, I decided to indulge in my previous love for dystopia. And Divergent definitely didn’t disappoint.

Divergent is set in the city that was once called Chicago, which is now divided into five different sections – Amity, Erudite, Abnegation, Dauntless and Candor. I found the theory behind this novel so interesting: that people be divided into ‘factions’ in which they live and work, based upon arguably the most vital aspects of our humanity – bravery, honesty, intelligence, selflessness and peace. When all citizens reach the age of 16, they are tested to see which faction they are made for, then they choose where to live the rest of their lives. Beatrice has spent her whole life in Abnegation, but feels she does not possess the selflessness needed to continue this life. Worried about letting down her parents and her brother Caleb, the choosing ceremony weighs heavily on her mind. But then her test reveals something almost unheard of – she is not made for one single faction, but for three. She is Divergent. Beatrice then makes a choice that will come to define her, as she must learn in training to forget everything she has been taught in the last 16 years, and become who she really is.

The violence, murder and suicide which are prominent themes in this book make Divergent a novel aimed at an older teen audience.

I loved the idea of this book – creating a society made of qualities that together make a well-rounded, heroic person, but individually have the potential for such brutality, cruelty and darkness. I found these books moving, full of action and suspense and inspiring in the way they portray the decisions we all have to make about who we are, and how these decisions affect the people we become.  I also found myself wondering throughout what attributes I valued most in life, and which faction I would belong to. Divergent is thrilling, insightful, and beautifully written. It reminds me of the emotional pull I felt towards my childhood dystopian favourites; that yearning to experience another version of our world, to have adventures and the chance to be truly brave.

5 thoughts on “Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. Pingback: Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver | Second Star To The Write

  2. Pingback: Confessions of a Book Snob | Second Star To The Write

Leave a comment